To be human is to want.

In his book Soul Keeping, John Ortberg points out that the whole “want” thing is a deep, human drive that is given by God.

Weird, right?

Because it seems to be the root of such turmoil. Jealousy, competition, dissatisfaction. Eventually emptiness.

Even my jaded nine-year-old has gotten to the point that her most coveted birthday presents lose their sparkle in weeks or even days.

How could it be from God? Is there anything that we desire in this life that actually imparts lasting joy?

No.

Seriously, tell me if I’m wrong, but I can’t think of anything.

If anything, getting the thing I have longed for stokes up more rumblings of discontent. Disappointment.

Even when I marvel at the gift of pink and orange sunrise clouds. The beauty and joy are almost palpable. But there is an edge of heartbreak to it always.

It goes back to the famous C.S. Lewis quote, “If I find in myself desires which nothing in this world can satisfy, the only logical explanation is that I was made for another world.”

There it is. The reason that even the purest gift of sunrise leaves a deep ache. It’s just a taste. A tantalizing glimpse of the true eternal gift.

“For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.” 1 Corinthians 13:12

There comes a day when we will know Him fully, even as He fully knows us. And every glimpse of goodness and truth and love remind our deepest soul that we aren’t there yet.

So, I will accept the gifts of laughter and kindness and flowers and chocolate even though a tinge of ache comes with them. I am glad to remember that this is just a taste.

Photo credit: http://www.messersmith.name/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2009/11/sunrise_20091119-6w.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

