If you’re looking for me, try the kitchen. I spend about 98.3% of my waking hours there. (I should verify that number, but it sounds right.)

As a new wife I almost killed my young husband with rich, nightly feasts of beef stroganoff and creamy casseroles.

Then the babies started coming! And the food allergies.

And the kitchen became my laboratory. A little intense like high school science lab. But I was able to nourish my family! Which felt fulfilling. And exhausting.

The whole three meals and two snacks a day thing took a little of the bounce out of my culinary enthusiasm.

And I’m still in the kitchen! Years of feeding these growing kids who are now beginning to tower over me. And my kind husband who eats everything with gratitude.

The day is coming when my kitchen time will ease up. But it’s not right now.

Sometimes I resent this little room. So many tedious hours of hard work. It’s quite a long process to make a batch of pancakes for dinner. (They are definitely too much work for me to consider pancakes a breakfast food.) And then they’re gone. In a blink.

A weird combination of fulfilling and flattening.

That felt like a lot of work to see no tangible results.

Except dirty dishes.

Ah, the dirty dishes!

My bane and blessing.

More kitchen time. More ordinary, tedious work. That will be undone again at the next meal.

And yet – what blessing! We have dishes! And, thank You, God, they’re dirty! Which means that our family had food to eat.

daffodil sink

And so this ordinary little sink becomes a sacred workplace.  It holds a vital rhythm of life to go slow. Which is not my reflexive pace.

To feel hot water and carefully, thoroughly wash each plate. Each spoon.  Each pan.

Fresh smelling suds.

And quiet.

And maybe half way through the rhythm of washing and rinsing, washing and rinsing, the thought occurs to me that You are here, too, Lord.

Thank You for being here.

Thank You for grace.

You forgive me all. the. time.

And I love You.

Whatever You want, Lord. Anything. I’m Your girl.

I’ll go to the dark, remote corners of the globe.

I’ll speak on stages.

I’ll learn new languages.

I’ll translate the Bible.

I’ll be kind to my husband.

I’ll read stories to my children.

I’ll make pancakes for dinner.

I’ll wash dirty dishes at this sink for 5, 10, 50 years.

I’m Your girl.

So I find contentment.

Because the mystery of my mundane kitchen is that God is here. Always.

Photo credits: https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/236x/4c/48/be/4c48be63173557d89afc8ebf73fea729.jpg and https://toolkit.climate.gov/sites/default/files/Spring-fed%20stream%20on%20a%20Sky%20Island.JPG

One thought on “Sacred Sink

Leave a Reply

