I bumped into these two words while reading Ann Voskamp:

Love regardless.

But what if my friend offends me?
Love regardless.

What if she gets jealous and speaks unkindly?
Love regardless.

What if she hurts my kids by deferring play dates and establishing a new, cool distance between our families?
Love regardless.

What if she doesn’t reciprocate coffee dates?
Love regardless.

What if she never says thank you when I serve her?
Love regardless.

What if her personality is just so different from mine?
Love regardless.

Shouldn’t I teach her how to behave properly by withdrawing my affection when she does something wrong?
Love regardless.

My sisters in Christ are like me. I am full of hormones- ever fluctuating. From pregnancy to babies to periods to menopause. I’m kind of a mess.

I am stretched to physical and emotional limits by kids that don’t sleep through the night and challenging marriage and financial pressures and making big decisions that affect the futures of my very most important people.

I am full of mistakes. And sin.

And maybe I’ll get better at loving people. Maybe my response in testy situations will become more refined and gracious as I get even older. But maybe it won’t. Maybe it’ll get worse.

“Love covers a multitude of sin.”

When I choose to love- even when I can’t figure out exactly what that looks like- sin is hard to find.

My sin, I mean.

Because what if my response to my sister who offends and hurts me is simply wrong? What if I’ve read the situation wrong? Or chosen a response that seems right, but isn’t?

Love covers my own sin. My own need to be right. My own unloveliness.

As I dig deep into His grace and sacrifice for me, I model patient, kind, forgiving Jesus love for my kids too.

 Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant  or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful;  it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth.  Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.  1 Corinthians 13:4-7

It is my heart that matters.

Even when I feel hurt by my sister, may the love of Jesus keep my heart open and tender as He leads me in the way of Love.

Eventually I invite the Holy Spirit to gradually shift my open heart into actions of love.

Photo credit: http://zamnar.com/299046.html

 

One thought on “A Soft Heart When Friendship is Hard

Leave a Reply

