It’s all about Him, really.

Which is a relief.

Our souls ache to worship. So it’s funny that when I stumble onto the immovable truth that it’s all about Him, I’m often surprised.

I remember reading Psalm 66:8 which says, “Bless our God, O peoples.” Except that I literally glanced at the words and thought they said, “Bless our people, O God.” I’m so used to asking for God’s blessing, and I don’t think of blessing Him.

Sometimes I ache for words to be a part of my being. I wish I could swallow them and they would radiate from my inner being into every fiber.

Ephesians 3:20-21 is like that for me.

Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen.”

I have learned to pray bold prayers with this verse. Tiny glimpses of “far more abundantly than all that we ask or think” shoot into my brain, and I’m overwhelmed. Actually, when I get a hint of these tiny glimpses, the prayer request itself pales dramatically in comparison to the One I’m praying to.

The ability of God to do abundantly more than I can imagine seems like an aside. It’s sandwiched in the main point. “Now to him.”

The main point is God.

Even my hope to conquer my own pervasive sinfulness and live out of His righteousness isn’t about me.

“Your people shall all be righteous… that I might be glorified.” Isaiah 60:21

We have friends who served the Kurds in Iraq for many years. Well-meaning Americans would sympathize with them about the brutal summer temperatures. Our friends bluntly told them, “We’re not here for the weather.”

“Now to him.”

2 Timothy 2:4 has soaked into the fiber of these friends: “No soldier gets entangled in civilian pursuits, since his aim is to please the one who enlisted him.”

My life is full of “civilian pursuits.” Shopping and cooking and laundry and cleaning. Such good stuff. But may I not be entangled in these pursuits. May they not be an end of themselves.

I long to get all messy in the daily stuff of life with my precious people as I live with and for Him. To summon my energy and heart that I may give my best as I cook breakfast and drive kids to karate and talk to my neighbor.

And I continue to pray for blessing!! He delights in blessing His children! But the true blessing that I long for is Jesus. Empty and pointless are blessings without the beautiful Blesser Himself.

As C.S. Lewis said, “If I find in myself desires which nothing in this world can satisfy, the only logical explanation is that I was made for another world.”

We were made for more than obtaining blessings! He has made our souls to be caught up in His grand, Kingdom purposes! That we would be part of the blessing. And ultimately that He would be lifted up.

“May God be gracious to us and bless us
and make his face shine on us—
so that your ways may be known on earth,
your salvation among all nations.”
Psalm 67:1-2

Photo credit: Youwall.com

Leave a Reply

